Guides: Communications and Digital Media Studies: Start Here

Top Communication and Digital Media Studies Resources

The following databases contain mostly journal articles but also professional magazines, conference papers, theses and other documents.

Communications and Digital Media Studies Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window

Technology Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Conditions of use warning:
Systematic or excessive downloading of the librarys digital resources either manually or using automated programs and archiving the downloaded content in any format is prohibited.
Please comply with the conditions of use and licensing restrictions for Library-subscribed e-resources.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Sociology This link opens in a new window
Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE Humanities & Social Sciences This link opens in a new window

Market Research

The following databases contain articles, reports and documents that cover market research. Market research includes consumer behaviour, research, advertising and sales.

Market Research Databases

Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window

Newspapers and Current Affairs

News Sources

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Canadian news as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Includes the Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires. Updated daily.
New York Times Digital This link opens in a new window
Users must create an account using a valid @ontariotechu.ca or @ontariotechu.net account. Once you have created an account you will be able to use it to login to New York Times online and mobile apps.
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news.
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals and magazines including news, company profiles and historical information.

Government and Policy

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Government of Canada publications including the Canadian Public Policy and Canadian Health Research collections.
Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
After logging in to the database with their network login, users must create a personal account using their Ontario Tech email. Provides business research reports on risk management, corporate social responsibility, human resource management, leadership, public policy etc. as well as economic trends and indices.

Citation

APA Style Guide, 7th Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Based on the 7th edition (2020) of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Legal Citation (McGill 10th edition 2023)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Based on the 2023 10th edition of the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (aka the McGill Guide)
APA - How to Cite ChatGPT

Communications and Digital Media Studies

Social Science, Humanities and Education Librarian

Get Help