Guides: Accounting: Home

Top Resources

Accounting Terminology Guide This link opens in a new window
Explore this site that contains a glossary of accounting terms to help understand financial reports. Acronyms are both abbreviated and defined, while related terms are cross-referenced.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business subject coverage including management, accounting, marketing, economics, etc. Offers full text for scholarly business journals, magazines, trade journals, country economic reports, market research reports, and company and industry profiles.
Licence Summary:
CPA Canada Handbook (formerly CICA Handbook) This link opens in a new window
Information and resources about the national accounting standards set by the Accounting Standards Board for entities that prepare financial statements in accordance with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP)
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Licence Summary:

Websites

Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants

Accounting Terminology Guide This link opens in a new window
Explore this site that contains a glossary of accounting terms to help understand financial reports. Acronyms are both abbreviated and defined, while related terms are cross-referenced.

Preparing to Write the PA1 & PA2 Examinations (CGA)
Dictionary of Derivatives and Financial Instruments
Guide to Understanding Basic Financials
more...less...
Go to this guide from IBM to access a basic introduction to reading the financial statements in a company's annual report.
FASB Standards
Access the US equivalent of the CICA Standards

Tips for Off Campus Access

Here are some tips for accessing Library online resources from off campus:

Use Omni Search, the search box on the Library home page.

You can choose "Available online" as a filter on the results page. When you select any online resources, you will be prompted to log in using your Network ID.

Omni Search

Access databases and publisher collections through the Databases A-Z tool.

Databases A-Z

Found an article and can't access it? Here are some things you can try:

1. Copy the article title into Omni Search

Omni Search

2. Search for the journal in Journals A-Z, then navigate to the year, volume and issue you need.

Journals A-Z

3. Email reference@ontariotechu.ca or use the Ask a Librarian chat button on the Library website.

Found an e-book in Omni and can't access it?

Email the library for help with access

Creative Commons License

This guide was created by Ontario Tech Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution International 4.0 License, except where otherwise noted.