Guides: Business: Statistics & Data

Find Statistics

Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) This link opens in a new window
The DLI website lists survey data that is available to Ontario Tech students from Statistics Canada. Survey descriptions, questionnaires and user guides are available to all users. Actual data must be downloaded by the institutions DLI contact (currently Kaelan Caspary). Use of data is restricted to Ontario Tech students, faculty and staff for academic purposes only. Contact Kaelan.Caspary@ontariotechu.ca for further information.
Licence Summary:

Canadian Trade Data
Trade Data Online provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries. Search by Product or Industry.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Restricted to students, faculty and staff.
odesi This link opens in a new window

BatchGeo
Create Google maps from your data. Place your data into a spreadsheet, copy and paste the data into BatchGeo and select Map It! Create groupings of data and discover correlations. BatchGeo accepts addresses, intersections, cities, states, and postal codes.

Scholars GeoPortal This link opens in a new window
Scholars GeoPortals is a geospatial data discovery tool. Collections currently include data from Statistics Canada (through the Data Liberation Initiative), Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (through the Ontario Geospatial Data Exchange), and DMTI Spatial Inc.

Statistics by Subject
CANSIM (replaced by Data tables)
Socioeconomic database presenting time series statistical tables
Census
Population Census data

Eurostat
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
World FactBook
UN Comtrade
Free access to all of the trade data available in the UN Comtrade database. The UN Comtrade database contains more than 3.1 billion trade records starting from 1962.
Trade Map
Trade Map provides - in the form of tables, graphs and maps - indicators on export performance, international demand, alternative markets and competitive markets, as well as a directory of importing and exporting companies.
Trade Map covers 220 countries and territories and 5300 products of the Harmonized System.