Guides: Educational Theories: Reference Works & Research Databases

Reference Works

Sage eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online collection of fully searchable social science encyclopedias, handbooks and other reference works. Selected works are linked below.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Online collection of full searchable social science reference works focused on research methods. Selected titles are linked below.

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology by Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781412916882
Publication Date: SAGE, 2008
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781412906784
Publication Date: Sage, 2008
Sample entries: Constructivism, Complexity Theory .
Fifty major thinkers on education from Confucius to Dewey by Joy Palmer (Editor); Liora Bresler (Editor); David Cooper (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780415231251
Publication Date: 2001
Fifty modern thinkers on education from Piaget to the present day by Joy A. Palmer (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780203464694
Publication Date: 2001
Educational Psychology by Robert E. Slavin
Call Number: LB1051 .S615 2009
ISBN: 9780205592005
Publication Date: 2008

Education Databases

An effective method for finding relevant, high quality sources is to search a combination of discipline-focused research databases and larger multidisciplinary databases and repositories.

Education Databases

(e.g. Google Scholar, discipline specific repositories); and discipline-focused research databases (e.g. ERIC, Education Source, PsycINFO)

Education Source This link opens in a new window
ERIC via. ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ERIC via. EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases and Repositories

Google Scholar

Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window