Workshop: Library Research Strategies for Education Graduate Students
View the Adobe Connect recording (Running time: 59:32)
Adobe Connect login required.
|
This hands-on, one hour Adobe Connect workshop is aimed specifically at online Education graduate students. Use advanced search techniques to save time, find more sources, and narrow in on the best and most relevant sources – particularly peer-reviewed articles.
By the end of the session you will be able to:
- Select search tools for different stages of research
- Evaluate and compare the results of two database searches
- Revise a search to improve the relevance of results
- Use more than one method to access the full text of articles
|
Recording overview:
- 1:16 - The research process and search tools
- 6:47 - Reference eBook collection Sage Knowledge
- 7:55 - Quick Search and getting an overview of a topic
- 15:40 - Access tips for print resources (Distance and Reciprocal borrowing)
- 16:58 - Google Scholar (with Ontario Tech login) and finding research articles on a topic
- 19:50 - Identifying peer reviewed articles (3 methods)
- 23:18 - Finding the full-text of articles (3 methods)
- 31:38 - Education and multidisciplinary databases: Why use them?
- 34:24 - Education database activity: constructing an advanced search; evaluating and revising results
- 56:57 - Citation help resources
Workshop: Citation Management with Zotero
View the Adobe Connect Recording (Running time: 22:47).
Adobe Connect login required.
- 0:00 - Downloading Zotero and creating an account
- 3:01 - Adding references from websites, Google Scholar, databases, etc.
- 14:38 - Inserting references and bibliographies in Word
- 17:08 - Inserting quick references
- 17:58 - Creating and using groups
- 21:08 - Annotating PDFs in Zotero
