Guides: Health Physics and Radiation Science: Books

Why Use Books?

Use books for:

getting an overview or background information on a topic
accessing things like formulas, tables, calculations, and chemical/material properties
putting your ideas into context

Advantages:

has a wide variety of information (views on a theme, overviews, historical data)
has a table of contents and/or index/glossary for easy navigation

Disadvantages:

may not be most current source on a topic (since publication can take years)

Within the book category, there are regular books (on the left) and reference books (on the right). Reference books give broader information, helping to clarify concepts and keywords. Reference books include dictionaries, encyclopaedies, handbooks, manuals, and textbooks.

E-Book Collections

IEEE Books This link opens in a new window
Collection of e-books addressing various topics within Engineering (e.g. signal processing, energy, robotics, biomedical engineering, networking & broadcasting). Not compatible with IE browsers.
Licence Summary:

National Academies Press
E-books and reports (including BEIR reports) in the areas of Energy, Engineering, Technology, Health and Medicine, and Public Policy. Many are freely available to download in PDF version.

Ovid Books This link opens in a new window
Includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from titles in health sciences.
Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
Covers subjects in the areas of: biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry & material science, computer science, earth & environmental sciences, engineering, social sciences & law, medicine, and physics & astronomy.
Note that access is only to selected titles via this link. Accessible titles are marked with green rectangle.

Reference Books

Some of these books may be in the Reference Collection, while others will be shelved in the regular collection, so make sure you check their location in the catalogue. Books in the Reference Collection are not allowed to be signed out.

Encyclopaedia of Medical Physics (2 vols.) by Slavik Tabakov; Peter H. S. Smith; Franco Milano; Sven-Erik Strand; Cornelius Lewis; Perry Sprawls
Call Number: R895 .A3 E53 2013
Encyclopaedia of Medical Physics contains nearly 2,800 cross-referenced entries relating to medical physics and associated technologies. Most articles include references, further reading, images, graphs, formulas, and examples.
Essentials of Nuclear Medicine Physics and Instrumentation by Rachel A. Powsner; Mark R. Palmer; Edward R. Powsner
Call Number: R895 .P69 2013
This edition expands this illustrated review and introductory guide to nuclear medicine physics and instrumentation. The authors present nuclear medicine-related physics and engineering concepts clearly and concisely. Included in the text are introductory chapters on relevant quantum mechanics, methods of radionuclide production, and the interaction of radiation with matter.
Introduction to Health Physics by Herman Cember; Thomas A. Johnson
Call Number: R895 .C454 2009
Sections on physical principles, atomic and nuclear structure, radioactivity, biological effects of radiation, and instrumentation. This one-of-a-kind guide spans the entire scope of the field and offers a problem-solving approach.
Analytical Chemistry of Uranium : Environmental, Forensic, Nuclear, and Toxicological Applications by Keev Karpas
Call Number: E-Book
Exploring a broad range of topics, the book focuses on the analytical aspects of industrial processes that involve uranium, its presence in the environment, health and biological implications of exposure to uranium compounds, and nuclear forensics.

Accessible Alternate Format Content

The Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE) provides alternate formats (PDFs, Daisy, ePub and plain text) for print books in the library collection.

Who can use ACE? Any library user with a documented print disability that is registered with Ontario Tech University's Student Accessibility Services office.

How to use ACE? Contact library.accessibility@ontariotechu.ca to receive an ACE token. Once you have your token:

If you have any questions or if the book you need is not available, please contact library.accessibility@ontariotechu.ca for assistance.