Guides: Applied & Industrial Mathematics: Home

Top Resources

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Contains documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications. Not compatible with IE browsers.
Licence Summary:
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and reviews of mathematical research journals, conference proceedings and books. Approximately 1,800 journals are reviewed in whole or in part.
Licence Summary:
Project Euclid Prime This link opens in a new window
Collection of high impact peer-reviewed journals in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. ONLY OPEN ACCESS ARTICLES AVAILABLE
Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new window
Scholars Portal is a digital repository of over 15 million scholarly articles drawn from from over 8400 full text journals covering every academic discipline.
Licence Summary:
SIAM Journals & Ebooks Online This link opens in a new window
Access full text of all 14 peer-reviewed research journals, and the complete SIAM Ebook collection.
Licence Summary:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Conditions of use warning:
Systematic or excessive downloading of the librarys digital resources either manually or using automated programs and archiving the downloaded content in any format is prohibited.
Please comply with the conditions of use and licensing restrictions for Library-subscribed e-resources.
ProQuest Science Journals This link opens in a new window
Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Select 2-5 keywords that describe your topic. Combine them by using the connectors (boolean operators) found in the table below.

The library catalogue and databases use this type of logic to search.

Operator	Explanation:	Examples:
AND	To narrow	online AND privacy ...results must include BOTH words used in the search
OR	To broaden	internet OR online ...results will include EITHER word from the search
NOT	To limit	NOT email ...results will NOT include the word 'email'
“ ”	To search for a phrase	"privacy settings" ...retrieves the enclosed words as a package
?	For alternate spellings	e?mail ...retrieves e-mail or email
* or $	For different word endings	protect* ...retrieves protect, protection, protected, etc.

Here are some tips for accessing Library online resources from off campus:

Use Omni Search, the search box on the Library home page

You can choose "Available online" as a filter on the results page.
When you select any online resources, you will be prompted to log in. Use your Network ID.

Access databases and publisher collections through the Library

Go to Databases A-Z to log in to collections like IEEE Xplore, ScienceDirect, and Springer.

Found an article and can't access it? Here are some things you can try:

Copy the article title into Omni Search
Search for the journal in Journals A-Z, then navigate to the year, volume and issue you need.
Email me: kaelan.caspary@ontariotechu.ca (or use the "Ask a Librarian" chat button on the Library website. It will say "Email a Librarian" when the chat service is closed.)

Found an e-book in Omni and can't access it?

This guide was created by Ontario Tech Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution International 4.0 License, except where otherwise noted.