Guides: Multidisciplinary and General Sources: Books & eBooks

Search for Books

Reference Books

Dictionaries, directories and encyclopedias (online or print) can be great places to start.

Canadian Almanac and Directory
Call Number: F5003 .A213
ISBN: 9781682178225
The Canadian Almanac & Directory is the most complete source of Canadian information available - cultural, professional and financial institutions, legislative, governmental, judicial and educational organizations. Canada's authoritative sourcebook for almost 160 years, the Canadian Almanac & Directory gives you access to almost 100,000 names and addresses of contacts throughout the network of Canadian institutions.
Canadian Who's Who
Call Number: FC25 .C35
ISBN: 9781682178362
Canadian Who's Who is the only authoritative publication of its kind in Canada, offering access to 12,600 notable Canadians in all walks of life. Published annually to provide current and accurate information, the familiar bright-red volume is recognised as the standard reference source of contemporary Canadian biography.

E-Book Collections

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Database of subject-specific encyclopedias and other reference sources.
Licence Summary:
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes Netlibrary collection of general works.
Scholarsportal ebooks This link opens in a new window
40,000 ebooks from commercial publishers and 200,000 free ebooks from the Internet Archive.
Licence Summary:

Accessible Alternate Format Content

The Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE) provides alternate formats (PDFs, Daisy, ePub and plain text) for print books in the library collection.

Who can use ACE? Any library user with a documented print disability that is registered with Ontario Tech University's Student Accessibility Services office.

How to use ACE? Contact library.accessibility@ontariotechu.ca to receive an ACE token. Once you have your token:

If you have any questions or if the book you need is not available, please contact library.accessibility@ontariotechu.ca for assistance.