Age-Friendly University and the Library

A large collection of open access books in subjects from agriculture to philosophy.

Search and preview millions of books and journals digitized from library collections such as UC Berkeley. Titles out of copyright are available in full.

Over 2000 open access books from across the sciences.

This is a growing online collection of contemporary open access e-books. All of these books have been made available for download on the Library's website in keeping with the intent of their creators and publishers, which chose to publish these works under open access licenses to allow the broadest possible access and reuse.

Project Gutenberg offers free access to over 60,000 epubs. Titles include works published in the United States before 1924, making them public domain.

Alison is one of the world’s largest free learning platforms for education and skills training. It is a for-profit social enterprise dedicated to making it possible for anyone, to study anything, anywhere, at any time, for free online, at any subject level.

Anyone who lives in Ontario can get a free membership to Oshawa Public Library.

Coursera Inc. is an American massive open online course provider. Coursera works with universities and other organizations to offer online courses, certifications, and degrees in a variety of subjects.

Khan Academy's mission is to provide a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere. They offer personalized learning resources for all ages in the disciplines of math, science, computing, history, economics and more.

Your Oshawa Public Library card allows you access to LinkedIn Learning for Library. This platform houses LinkedIn Learning's complete catalogue of more than 16,000 courses in seven languages, all for free!

The Regional Municipality of Durham has developed an Age-Friendly Strategy and Action Plan for Durham. Following a process outlined by the Ontario Ministry of Seniors Affairs in the Ontario Age-Friendly Community Planning Guide, we started gathering input from older adults, caregivers, community organizations, and Durham's eight local area municipalities.

The independent national voice and trusted advocate for public health, speaking up for people and populations to all levels of government in Canada.

While COVID-19 can make anyone sick, people who are older are at a higher risk of developing serious complications. Use the following resources to learn how you can prevent COVID-19 and find tips on taking care of your physical and mental health.

The National Institute on Ageing (NIA) is a public policy and research centre based at Ryerson University in Toronto. The NIA is dedicated to enhancing successful ageing across the life course. This particular PDF deals with Covid-19 vaccinations and older adults.

Get updates to the Covid-19 situation in the Durham Region.

This site is dedicated to the promotion of free access to medical journals over the Internet. Journals are listed by specialty, and alphabetically by title, and non-English journals are listed as well.

Staying connected is important throughout our lives. Transitions that happen as we age such as retirement, or loss of a spouse can leave us feeling isolated. Having a variety of meaningful contacts keeps you socially connected. You may have friends that enjoy similar hobbies, or family you see regularly, or a close friend you talk with on the phone regularly. All of these can support your mental health.

Created by the National Library of Medicine, this site has information on health topics (conditions, diseases and wellness), drug information, a medical encyclopedia and health news.

Providing drug and medical information.

Leading health authority within the United Nations.

Find free photos for personal or commercial use.

Find clip art and GIFs that are holiday-themed (not only Christmas!)

The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.

Astronomical pictures of Messier deep space objects, each with textual information. Most of the photos are public domain. Some photos are however, under copyright and are tagged as necessary.

The National Gallery of Art has an open access policy for images of works of art in our permanent collection which the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are available for download free of charge for any use, whether commercial or non-commercial.

Icons and photos for everything.

The Art Institute of Chicago is pleased to offer free, unrestricted use of over 50,000 images of works in the collection believed to be in the public domain or to which the museum otherwise waives any copyright it might have. Such images are made available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation and the Terms and Conditions of this website.

Free stock photos, textures images pictures and clipart for any use including commercial.

Millions of the Smithsonian's images are available to download, share and reuse, free of charge.

The internet's source of freely-usable images.

Official newspaper of the federal government. Part I contains notices and proposed regulations. Part II contains official regulations. Part III contains official acts.

Access Canadian judicial and legislative documents from federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions through CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute). CanLII is an excellent source for case-law and statutes and regulations.

Created by the Department of Justice to celebrate the Charter's 35th anniversary.

Links to the Constitution Act 1867 (formerly the British North America Act), the Constitution Act 1982 and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Ontario statutes and regulations (includes source law and repealed law).

Consolidated federal statutes and regulations, news releases.

Bills from current and previous parliamentary sessions.

Legislation currently before the Federal Parliament.

Supreme Court of Canada decisions back to 1875, continually updated.

Over 1800 databases from 123 jurisdictions around the world. Databases include case law, legislation, treaties, law reform reports, law journals and other materials.

Explore.org's live cam collection is nicknamed "Pearls of the Planet". The mission is to allow people to experience nature up close and personal so they can fall in love with the world. So please come explore and welcome to the Explore.org family.

Our Ocean Voyager gallery is home to whale sharks, manta rays and thousands of other fascinating fish. As one of the largest single aquatic exhibits in the world, Ocean Voyager features an acrylic tunnel for guests to view thousands of marine creatures on all sides, as well as a giant acrylic viewing window to explore our oceans like never before.

Watch live footage and videos of many of your favourite animals.

All webcams on this site are available for live streaming. You can see around the world in real time.

This is a database of open access, peer-reviewed journals. The journal articles are freely accessible online and include both the sciences and the humanities.

Common Ground Open is an interdisciplinary compilation of open access articles published across Common Ground journals. Common Ground Open's publications are released under a Creative Commons license.

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

e-Scholar is Ontario Tech's institutional repository. It stores, preserves and disseminates digital copies of the research and scholarly output of the University. These can include monographs, pre- and post-prints of academic journals, theses and dissertations, reports/working papers and conference proceedings as well as media.

Explore some of our most popular microfilm collections online! FamilySearch International has digitized thousands of our microfilm reels for you to access these records free of charge through their website, making it even easier for you to trace your family history in Ontario or explore the province’s past.

Google Scholar includes many free full text articles across many scholarly disciplines and sources.

JSTOR partners with both libraries and publishers to provide freely accessible content.

Find freely accessible resources via Ontario Tech's Open Access page.

Project Muse content is freely available to users. It includes open access books, journals and digital humanities works from a number of reputable university presses, scholarly societies and independent not-for-profit academic publishers.

Unpaywall is a free browser extension for Chrome or Firefox that points you to legal, author-posted manuscripts that are hosted on university and government web servers.

CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada

Statistics Canada's official release bulletin. You will find news releases on current social and economic conditions and new product announcements. Described as a "comprehensive one-stop overview of new information available from Statistics Canada."

Access Government of Canada information available electronically from Statistics Canada, Library of Parliament, Finance Canada, Industry Canada, etc.

The Government of Canada Open Data Portal contains open maps, and open data on demographics, government services, industry, and more.

Links to statistics and publications pages on province of Ontario websites.

Canadian statistical information, including census data, daily news, and publications and reports.

A subject listing of free Canadian publications.