Guides: Forensic Science: Statistics & Data

Statistics and Data Guides

Consult the Statistics guide or the Data guide for more resources.

Data- Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.

odesi This link opens in a new window
odesi is a data repository, that includes Statistics Canada datasets and polling data. It is a web-based data exploration, extraction and analysis tool. odesi provides researchers the ability to search for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets. Microdata and aggregate data are available, in a range of formats.
Global Development Finance This link opens in a new window
Statistical database providing 216 indicators for 135 countries, focusing on 216 indicators including external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, key debt ratios, average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructurings, and scheduled debt service projections. Covers from 1970-present.
CORA This link opens in a new window
Canadian Opinion Research Archive is a collection of hundreds of commercial and independent surveys dating back to the 1970's. Individuals conducting research for non-commercial purposes may be able to get access to CORA's electronic holdings by requesting a password from CORA manager. CORA is generally prohibited from sending raw data extracts from commercially produced datasets (CROP, Decima, Environics). CRIC (Centre for Research and Information on Canada) data are available for download.

Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) This link opens in a new window
The DLI website lists survey data that is available to Ontario Tech students from Statistics Canada. Survey descriptions, questionnaires and user guides are available to all users. Actual data must be downloaded by the institutions DLI contact (currently Kaelan Caspary). Use of data is restricted to Ontario Tech students, faculty and staff for academic purposes only. Contact Kaelan.Caspary@ontariotechu.ca for further information.
Licence Summary:
odesi This link opens in a new window
odesi is a data repository, that includes Statistics Canada datasets and polling data. It is a web-based data exploration, extraction and analysis tool. odesi provides researchers the ability to search for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets. Microdata and aggregate data are available, in a range of formats.
Scholars GeoPortal This link opens in a new window
Scholars GeoPortals is a geospatial data discovery tool. Collections currently include data from Statistics Canada (through the Data Liberation Initiative), Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (through the Ontario Geospatial Data Exchange), and DMTI Spatial Inc.